Poetry

TAKE TWO: Lines for dipping chicken nuggets

You are the type of person who carries his skateboard
everywhere but leaves it in my trunk
You always mean to ride it        but the thought of
being with me clouds your thinking

 ~

Your childlike frustration builds up with each step
as your laces come untied          for the tenth time

 ~

You laugh      the cat who rolls on her
tummy        “meow” for no reason at all
the dog sitting on her bottom
smiles from ear to ear     like a person

~

Love is like velocity       we feel the speeding up
and the slowing down
my love      I want to go nowhere with you

 ~

Walking out the door
Forgetting my car keys as if they are useless

 ~

The store was crowded
I grabbed you a Kit Kat      the biggest one I could
I ate half     I saved the rest for you     here
look in my purse      take it      taste how sweet

~

I cannot help but sleep in your shirt
you take it off after a long day
I smell like you     each night neglecting
that you wore it all day     dirty

~

Please hold me the forgotten way   I won’t plead
my face and voice happy
my darling        I don’t need saving

Leave a comment